A Member Board of the American Board of Medical Specialties

A- A A+


ABPLogoBlue trans

American Board of Pathology (ABPath) Announces Spring 2021 Exams

at Pearson VUE Testing Centers

January 27, 2021 - ABPath is pleased to announce the Spring 2021 Primary Exams (AP and CP) will be administered using Pearson VUE Professional test centers. Pearson VUE offers a comprehensive network of testing centers throughout the United States, Canada and in select overseas locations.

Examinations will be administered April 28-May 19, 2021.

The ABPath will deliver the Spring 2021 exam(s) exclusively at Pearson VUE testing centers to provide a safe and secure testing environment during the pandemic. Using Pearson VUE testing centers will ensure all candidates have an equitable testing environment while maintaining the security and integrity of this high-stakes exam.

No exams will be administered at the ABPath exams centers located in Tampa or Tucson for the 2021 Primary Exams, nor will we be using remotely proctored online exams.

More information will be forthcoming with instructions on how to schedule your exam date(s) and location with Pearson VUE. For Primary exam updates as they become available, visit





Attached is an important communication from the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) regarding the decision to postpone the opening date of the American Board of Medical Specialties Draft Standards for Continuing Certification – Call for Comments.


 ABPLogoBlue trans

American Board of Pathology Announces New Officers and
Board of Trustees for 2021

TAMPA, Fla, (January 11, 2021) - The American Board of Pathology (ABPath), the leading organization that certifies physicians in pathology, is pleased to announce the election of the following officers for 2021:

President— Edward R. Ashwood, MD, Aurora, CO
Vice President and Treasurer— Jeffrey D. Goldstein, MD, Los Angeles, CA
Secretary— Ritu Nayar, MD, Chicago, IL
Immediate Past President— Steven H. Swerdlow, MD, Pittsburgh, PA

Congratulations to Constance M. Filling, EdD, Washington, DC (Public Member)
who was re-elected to an additional term as a Trustee.

In addition to the officers, Trustees of the American Board of Pathology are:

• Kathleen G. Beavis, MD, Chicago, IL
• Susan A. Fuhrman, MD, Columbus, OH
• Mark Fung, MD, PhD, Burlington, VT
• Mohiedean Ghofrani, MD, MBA, Vancouver, WA
• Eric F. Glassy, MD, San Pedro, CA
• Karen L. Kaul, MD, PhD, Evanston, IL
• Barbara Sampson, MD, PhD, New York, NY

ABPath extends our sincere appreciation to our Trustees for their continued support and dedication. As leaders in the profession of pathology, their guidance and willingness to serve are critical for the Board to fulfill its mission in serving the public and promoting excellence in the field of pathology.

BOT 2021 composite final


About the American Board of Pathology
The mission of the American Board of Pathology, as a member of the American Board of Medical Specialties, is to serve the public and advance the profession of pathology by setting certification standards and promoting lifelong competency of pathologists. Founded in 1936, the ABPath accomplishes this mission by establishing certification and continuing certification standards and assessing the qualifications of those seeking to obtain voluntary certification in the specialty of pathology. For more information visit or call (813) 286-2444.


© 2015 The American Board of Pathology. All rights reserved.