A Member Board of the American Board of Medical Specialties

A- A A+

2019 BOT 234A6744 edit 

  American Board of Pathology Announces New Officers for 2019 Board of Trustees

TAMPA, Fla, (January 2019)- The American Board of Pathology (ABPath), the leading non-profit organization that certifies physicians in pathology, is pleased to announce the election of the following officers for 2019:

President—Susan Fuhrman, MD, Columbus, OH
Vice President— Steven Swerdlow, MD, Pittsburgh, PA
Secretary— Edward Ashwood, MD, Aurora, CO
Treasurer—Michael Jones, MD, Portland, ME
Immediate Past President— Karen Kaul, MD, PhD, Evanston, IL

Congratulations to the following board members who were re-elected to a second term as trustees:

 • Eric Glassy, MD, San Pedro, CA
 • Jeffrey Goldstein, MD, Los Angeles, CA
 • Ritu Nayar, MBBS, MD, Chicago, IL

Dr. Gary Procop’s fourth and final term concluded at the end of 2018, ABPath wishes to thank him for his many years of dedication and service. His contributions to and passion for pathology will greatly benefit the profession for years to come.

Additional Trustees of the American Board of Pathology are:

• Kathleen Beavis, MD, Chicago, IL
• Constance Filling, EdD, Washington, DC (Public Member)
• Mohiedean Ghofrani, MD, Vancouver, WA
• Barbara Sampson, MD, New York, NY
• James Stubbs, MD, Rochester, MN

ABPath appreciates the dedication and continued support of our trustees. Their guidance and willingness to serve is essential for the Board to fulfill its mission in serving the public and promoting excellence in the field of pathology.

About the American Board of Pathology
The mission of the American Board of Pathology, as a member of the American Board of Medical Specialties, is to serve the public and advance the profession of pathology by setting certification standards and promoting lifelong competency of pathologists. Founded in 1936, the ABPath accomplishes this mission by establishing certification and continuing certification standards and assessing the qualifications of those seeking to obtain voluntary certification in the specialty of pathology. For more information visit or call (813) 286-2444.


* The 2019 Trustees of the ABPath in the photograph above are from left to right: Ritu Nayar, MD; Rebecca Johnson, MD (CEO); Edward Ashwood, MD (Secretary); Constance Filling, EdD; Steven Swerdlow, MD (Vice President); Jeffrey Goldstein, MD; Susan Fuhrman, MD (President); Eric Glassy, MD; Karen Kaul, MD, PhD (Immediate Past-President); James Stubbs, MD; Michael Jones, MD (Treasurer); Kathleen Beavis, MD; Mohiedean Ghofrani, MD, MBA; Barbara Sampson, MD, PhD.

© 2015 The American Board of Pathology. All rights reserved.