A Member Board of the American Board of Medical Specialties

A- A A+
  • As of January 1, 2006, all primary and subspecialty certificates issued by the ABP are required to be maintained in the MOC program.  Continuing certification status is dependent upon current participation in MOC by meeting all interim requirements and deadlines of the program during each 10-year MOC cycle.  Failure to meet reporting deadlines will result in a warning followed by early expiration of certification if reporting requirements are not met.
  • Certifications issued prior to January 1, 2006 are not required to be maintained in the MOC program, but diplomates are strongly encouraged by the ABP to do so voluntarily.
  • The ABP’s MOC program consists of the following four parts which are described in greater detail in the subsections linked to the left.

Part I – Professionalism and Professional Standing
Diplomates must hold a valid, unrestricted medical license and meet the ABP’s professionalism expectations.

Part II – Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment
Diplomates must meet the ABP’s learning and self-assessment requirements.

Part III – Assessment of Knowledge, Judgment, and Skills
Diplomates must assess their pathology specific knowledge, judgment, and skills by passing a secure examination during every 10-year MOC cycle.

Part IV – Improvement in Medical Practice
Diplomates must engage in specialty relevant performance-in-practice assessment and improvement activities.

  • Diplomates will report Part I, II, and IV requirements via submission of a MOC Reporting Form every two years.  All MOC requirements and deadlines are based on the year of enrollment in the MOC program.  Diplomates issued certificates after 1/1/2006 are automatically enrolled in the MOC program upon issuance of a certificate. Diplomates with only non-time limited (or lifetime) certificates issued prior to 1/1/2006 may voluntarily enroll in the MOC program at any time.
  • Diplomates with more than one certificate need only submit a single reporting form to maintain all certificates held.  The diplomate may use the same Part II (CME/SAM) and Part IV activities to meet MOC requirements for all certificates being maintained.
  • All reports must be submitted online via PATHway (  All MOC annual fee payments must be made online by major credit card (MasterCard, Visa, or American Express) at the time of reporting form submission. Paper forms and checks will not be accepted.
  • A diplomate must be up to date in reporting requirements before he/she will be allowed to sit for the MOC examination or any additional primary or subspecialty examinations.
  • A diplomate issued a combined AP/CP certificate after 1/1/2006 must maintain the primary certificate in its entirety in order to maintain his/her ABP certification and subspecialty certification.

To successfully complete a 10-year MOC cycle, a diplomate must have all five electronic Reporting Forms submitted and approved, complete an ABP-approved Patient Safety Course, and pass a secure MOC exam for each certification.  After successful completion of the first 10-year MOC cycle, the next 10-year cycle will commence.


© 2015 The American Board of Pathology. All rights reserved.