Click the ABP Banner to return to the home page.


If you do not have a Username and Password, click here

Contact Us       
Site Map

Subspecialty Certification Requirements

I. Medical School Education
II. Medical Licensure
III. GME Training Requirements

General Requirements
Blood Banking/Transfusion Medicine
Chemical Pathology
Clinical Informatics
Forensic Pathology
Medical Microbiology
Molecular Genetic Pathology
Pediatric Pathology

Combined Primary and Subspecialty Certification

C. Subspecialty Certification

1. Requirements for All Subspecialty Certification

a. Candidates must have current primary or subspecialty certification from the ABP or another ABMS Board. Applicants may apply to take a subspecialty examination, but will not be declared an “eligible”/qualified candidate and not allowed to sit for the exam until primary certification is achieved.

b. Candidates with time-limited primary certificates must be participating in MOC and up to date with all MOC reporting requirements.

c. Candidates for combined AP/Neuropathology certification must have passed the AP primary examination before they will be allowed to sit for the NP subspecialty examination.

d. Applicants may not receive credit toward subspecialty certification for training that was used to satisfy the training requirement for primary certification.

e. Residents must complete at least 2 years of training in AP/CP, AP, or CP before beginning subspecialty training, except for Dermatopathology in which completion of all primary certification training requirements prior to the fellowship is required.

f. Applicants who completed subspecialty training 10 or more years prior to application must have successfully completed 6 months of additional pathology training in an ACGME-accredited training program in the area(s) in which certification is desired.

g. Modified training (part-time training) for subspecialty certification is acceptable if the part-time training occurs in an approved position in an ACGME-accredited program. The duration of training may not exceed twice that required for qualification.